Outlook 2013 - POP3 configurations

PLEASE READ: Important information regarding “POP3”:

“POP3” by default downloads email from a server to a single computer or device, then deletes it from the server. Because your messages get downloaded to a single computer or device and then deleted from the server, it can appear that mail is missing or disappearing from your Inbox if you try to check your mail from a different computer or device.

It is highly recommended that both parts of this article are followed to ensure a copy of the message is left on the server. This will need to be done on each computer or device you setup via "POP3". 


Part 1: Setting Up POP:

If you have never used Outlook 2013 before, it will start with a screen saying:
Do you want to setup Outlook to connect to an email account? – Select YES, and hit Next
If you have used Outlook 2013 before on this computer, select File, and then Account and Social network settings. Select “New” in the pop-up window
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Select Manual setup or additional server types – Hit Next
2. Select – POP or IMAP – Hit Next
3. Fill in the following information:
4. Your Name:
5. Email address: (e.g., xyz123@psu.edu)
6. Account Type: POP3
7. Incoming Mail Server: email.psu.edu
8. Outgoing Mail Server (SMTP): authsmtp.psu.edu
9. Username: (e.g., xyz123)
10. Password: (Your Penn State Access Account Password)

11. Select More Settings on the right hand side
12. Click on the “Outgoing Server” tab
13. Check My outgoing server (SMTP) requires authentication
14. Check Use same settings as my incoming mail server
15. Click on the “Advanced” tab
16. Under Incoming Server (POP3): Enter 995
17. Check the box beside “This server requires an encrypted connection (SSL)
18. Under Outgoing Server (SMTP): Input 587
19. Use the following type of encrypted connection: TLS (select from dropdown menu)
20. Select Next – and let it test your settings
21. Select Finish


Part 2 - Leave a copy of the message on the server:

  1. Click File.
  2. Click Account Settings.
  3. Select the appropriate email account.
  4. Click Change.
  5. Click More Settings.
  6. Click the Advanced tab.
  7. Select the Leave a copy of the message on the server check box.
  8. Click OK.
  9. Click Next.
  10. Click Finish.
  11. Click Close.

Note: When the check box is cleared, deleted messages will be permanently removed from the messaging server.

 

Service Now Article: KB0010053

Was this helpful?: 

No