Outlook 2010 - POP3 configurations

PLEASE READ: Important information regarding “POP3”:

“POP3” by default downloads email from a server to a single computer or device, then deletes it from the server. Because your messages get downloaded to a single computer or device and then deleted from the server, it can appear that mail is missing or disappearing from your Inbox if you try to check your mail from a different computer or device.

It is highly recommended that both parts of this article are followed to ensure a copy of the message is left on the server. This will need to be done on each computer or device you setup via "POP3".


Part 1: Setting up POP:

1. Open Outlook 2010.
 
2. Click File.
 
3. Click Add Account.
 
4. Select Manually configure server settings or additional server types.
 
5. Click Next.
 
6. Select Internet E-mail.
 
7. Add the following:
 
a. Name: (e.g. John Doe)
 
b. Email Address: (e.g. xzy123@psu.edu)
 
c. Account Type: POP3
 
d. Incoming Mail Server: email.psu.edu
 
e. Outgoing Mail Server: authsmtp.psu.edu
 
f. User Name (e.g., xyz123)
 
g. Password: Your access account password
 
8. Click “More Settings…”
 
9. Click “Outgoing Server Tab”
 
10. Check “My outgoing server (SMTP) requires authentication” checkbox.
  • Make sure “use same settings as my incoming mail server” is selected.
11. Click Advanced tab
 
12. Set the incoming server port to 995.
 
13. Check “This server requires an encrypted connection (SSL)” checkbox
 
14. Set the outgoing server port to 587.
 
15. Set the option “Use the following type of encrypted connection” to TLS.
 
16. Click OK.
 
17. Click Next.
 
18. Click Finish.

 


Part 2: Leaving a copy of the message on the server:

  1. Click File.
  2. Click Account Settings.
  3. Select the appropriate email account.
  4. Click Change.
  5. Click More Settings.
  6. Click the Advanced tab.
  7. Select the Leave a copy of the message on the server check box.
  8. Click OK.
  9. Click Next.
  10. Click Finish.
  11. Click Close.

Note: When the check box is cleared, deleted messages will be permanently removed from the messaging server.

 

Service Now Article: KB0010048

Was this helpful?: 

No